The Bookshelf of Emily J.

A few months back I posted My Top Ten Classic Novels for Teenage Girls. It has become my second most-viewed post ever, just behind Seven Annoying Things People Say To Pianists, which also created a lot of conversation.

I felt somewhat bad about making this list for girls. I hate to gender stereotype and I hate saying that there are books for girls that don’t apply to boys. That’s nonsense. However, I made the list because girls are what I know.  I’m female, I have two daughters, and I spend a lot of time worrying about how to make life better for the female sex through my research.  I’ve also spent quite a lot of time with teenage girls as a mentor.

All of this has led me to think that I should make a list of my top ten classic novels for teenage boys, so here it…

View original post 730 more words

